Mike Thompson Watch


Mike Thompson Votes for Schools, Against War Funding

(May 24, 2009)

California's First Congressional district's Representative in Congress, Mike Thompson, was one of only 60 members of the House to vote against H.R. 2346, the Supplemental Appropriations Act of 2009, on May 14, 2009. The bill also passed the U.S. Senate (86 Yes, 3 No, 10 not voting), but in a slightly different version. So to become law the House and Senate differences must be resolved, then it is sent to President Barack Obama for his signature (he supports the bill).

The Supplemental Appropriations Act provided continuing funding for the War in Afghanistan, the new U.S. funded war in Pakistan, and a bunch of miscellaneous military and non-military programs.

Clearly the anti-war citizens of the First Congressional Districts have made their voices heard, at last. Unfortunately, the No vote by Thompson was only symbolic, since everyone knew the measure would pass. Many observors thought it was clear that the 2006 and 2008 elections were not just victories for the Democratic Party, but were a clear message to get out of Iraq and Iran. Instead the new administration has extended the war into Pakistan, and most members of Congress, Democratic and Republican, have gone along with our lawyer turned warrior President.

Mike voted Yes on the 21st Century Green High-Performing Public Facilities Act, which passed the House 275 to 155 on May 14th. H.R. 2187 directs the Secretary of Education to make grants to state school systems for modernization of public school facilities. Projects that meet green building standards get some priority. While I am concerned about how all the federal spending will be paid for, I think investing in our schools always pays off in the long run. So thank you, Mike.

Mike Thompson also introduced H. Res. 448, which passed on a voice vote on May 18, 2009. This congratulated the University of California, Davis, for a century of research and education.

Thompson Watch Main Page

Mike Thompson is the current elected member of the United States House of Representatives for California's 1st Congressional District.